Advisory Board

The Wales Cancer Bank is delighted to announce that, as part of the new governance structure for 2020-2025, a new Advisory Board has been convened to help guide and advise the biobank through this next quinquennium.  WCB has previously gained enormously from the excellent input from earlier Advisory Board members and the WCB Executive group has invited a cross section of eminent professionals to sit on the new Advisory Board to help drive the resource and ensure its relevance and status within biobanking and cancer research worldwide. 

The Advisory Board has a strategic oversight and planning remit and will receive reports and recommendations from the Executive group.  The majority of Board members are drawn from outside Wales to ensure transparency and provide a UK perspective. 

The Advisory Board will be chaired by Mr Nick Ross, broadcaster and journalist, and the membership of the Board is below.

WCB Advisory Board 2020




Nick Ross



Broadcaster and journalist

Prof Tom Crosby  

National Cancer Clinical Director, Wales


Dr Ian Lewis

National Cancer Research Institute

Director Strategy and Initiatives

Professor Hazel Biggs

Southampton University (retired)

Prof of Healthcare law and Bioethics

Dr Phil Quinlan

UKCRC Tissue Directory and Coordination Centre


Prof Phil Stephens

Cardiff University

University Biobank academic lead

Prof Val Speirs

University of Aberdeen

Chair, Molecular Oncology

Erik Steinfelder

ThermoFisher Scientific

Biobanking Market Development Director


Dr Brian Clark

ClinBion Consulting

Owner and Chief consultant

Prof David Ford

Swansea University


Director SAIL databank

Richard Stead

Pfizer Oncology UK and ABPI Cancer group

Senior Medical Affairs Adviser